2007 Feynman prize winners

The Foresight Nanotech Institute awards prizes each year for people who’ve made noteworthy contributions to molecular manufacturing.

The student prize went to Fung Suong Ou, for “Devices and Machines on a Single Nanowire.” He used a combinatorial approach to fabricate one-dimensional structures composed of carbon nanotubes and metal nanowires.

The communication prize was earned by Robert Freitas for his decade-plus of work telling people about the benefits of medical applications of molecular manufacturing. His highly detailed and informative Nanomedicine books are available in full online, as well as Kinematic Self-Replicating Machines.

The Feynman theory prize was won by David A. Leigh, for artificial molecular motor and machine design in the realm of Brownian motion.

The Feynman experimental prize went to Sir J. Fraser Stoddart, for synthesizing molecular machines including a molecular “muscle.”

Paper by Fraser Stoddart, Evaluation of synthetic linear motor-molecule actuation energetics