Space Elevator Climbing and Beaming Competition July 14-16, 2009

The Space Elevator Games 2009 finally have a specific scheduled date and they are July 14-16, 2009.

Here is the schedule:
6/05: non-US press badging deadline
6/08: Aviation Safety Review Board (must pass)
6/15: Tether System test flight (Dryden)
6/18: Team Laser safety/qual tests (Dryden)
7/09: Teams arrive for setup (Dryden)
7/14 – 7/16: Power Beaming Challenge (Dryden)
7/17: SE day at SFF conference (Ames)
8/13: Tether Challenge (Seattle)
8/13 – 8/17: Space Elevator Conference (Seattle)

WHO: Prize purse by NASA CC, management by The Spaceward Foundation, six competing teams.
WHAT: The Space Elevator Power Beaming Challenge, a 1-km vertical laser-powered race demonstrating the concept of the Space Elevator. Total prize purse is $2,000,000.
WHERE: NASA Dryden Flight Research Center / Edwards Air-Force Base

NASA’s Centennial Challenges Program, NASA’s Dryden Flight Research Center, and the Spaceward Foundation are announcing that the 2009 Power-Beaming Challenge, part of Spaceward’s Space Elevator Games, will be held at NASA’s Dryden Flight Research Center at the Edwards Air Force Base in California’s Mojave Desert on July 14, 2009.

“We are very pleased that we can host this year’s Climber / Power-Beaming competition at our facility” said John Kelly, Deputy Mission Director for Exploration at the Dryden Flight Research Center. “Dryden has a rich history of research into the technologies of tomorrow, reaching back to the first supersonic flights and then later to the Apollo lunar missions. The Space Elevator can revolutionize our ability to travel to space, and it is only natural that testing of the concept will take place at our facilities.”

Power-beamking Teams
* Lasermotive, Seattle, WA, Led by Jordin Kare
* McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada, Led by Cyrus Foster
* Kansas City Robotics, Kansas City, MO, Led by Brian Turner
* University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada, Led by: Clayton Ruszkowski
* NSS Space Elevator Team, National Space Society, Ellicott City, Maryland, Led by Bert Murray
* M Climber, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, Led by Andrew Lyjak