Spacex could launch third rocket in 9 days

SpaceX is looking to extend its soaring flight rate with a third Falcon rocket launch in nine days, as the company works off a backlog of missions that piled up after an accident 10 months ago.

The company’s 39th Falcon 9 rocket is being prepared for liftoff from the Kennedy Space Center in Florida at 7:36 p.m. EDT Sunday (July 2).

The launch of Intelsat 35e to geostationary orbit some 22,300 miles up means the booster will not have enough fuel to make a return landing.

Spacex is on pace to launch more than 20 Falcon rockets this year, including the debut flight of its Falcon Heavy mega booster, which will use three Falcon 9 rockets as its first stage.

SpaceX is targeting launch of Intelsat 35e from Launch Complex 39A (LC-39A) at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida. The 58-minute launch window opens on Sunday, July 2, at 7:36 p.m. EDT, or 23:36 UTC. The satellite will be deployed approximately 32 minutes after launch.

A backup launch window opens on Monday, July 3, at 7:37 p.m. EDT, or 23:37 UTC. SpaceX will not attempt to land Falcon 9’s first stage after launch due to mission requirements.

The Spacex launch webcast will start in five hours.

logo

Don’t miss the latest future news

Subscribe and get a FREE Ebook