Swarm Technologies Has Seven Satellites But Had a Fine of $900K from the FCC

Three new Swarm satellites were launched into Low Earth Orbit (LEO) on the SpaceX SSO-A on December 3.

Swarm now has a constellation of seven satellites.

The Federal Communications Commission settled an investigation into Swarm Technologies’ unauthorized launch and operation of small satellites. The company agreed to a settlement which included a $900,000 penalty, an extended period of FCC oversight, and a requirement of pre-launch notices to the Commission, among other stipulations.

In April 2017, Swarm applied for an experimental radio service license to deploy and operate two earth stations and four small satellites, called SpaceBEEs or BEEs (Basic Electronic Elements). The FCC denied Swarm’s application in December 2017 over concerns about the ability to track the satellites. Swarm nevertheless launched the satellites on January 12, 2018.

The FCC’s Office of Engineering and Technology and the International Bureau will continue to consider Swarm applications on a case-by-case basis.

Swarm Technologies is a three-year-old satellite company committed to providing accessible, low-cost global connectivity.