SpaceX Falcon Successful Launch of Israeli Moon Mission and Indonesia Satellite

The SpaceX Falcon 9 has launched. All conditions are good. Second stage engine has fired. The rocket fairing has deployed. It looks like another good launch.

First stage has successfully landed.
Stage 2 is in good orbit.

They will need to relight the second stage for deployment of the various satellites.

The SpaceX Webcast has started. Less than 9 5 launched.

If there is a successful launch today it will take the small and weak rocket engine almost two months to get the Israeli lander to the moon. It will have to circle out in larger orbits to get captured by the moon’s gravity. Lunar landing would be April 11, 2019.

SpaceX is targeting Thursday, February 21 for launch of the Nusantara Satu satellite from Space Launch Complex 40 (SLC-40) at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida. The 32-minute launch window opens at 8:45 p.m. EST, or 1:45 UTC on February 22. Falcon 9 will also deliver the Beresheet lunar spacecraft and Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL) S5 spacecraft to orbit. Deployments will occur at approximately 33 and 44 minutes after liftoff.

SSL will provide broadband connectivity for Indonesia with the Nusantara Satu satellite.

A 32-minute backup launch window opens on Friday, February 22 at 8:41 p.m. EST, or 1:41 UTC on February 23.

Falcon 9’s first stage for the Nusantara Satu mission previously supported the Iridium-7 mission in July 2018 and the SAOCOM 1A mission in October 2018. Following stage separation, SpaceX will attempt to land Falcon 9’s first stage on the “Of Course I Still Love You” droneship, which will be stationed in the Atlantic Ocean.

SOURCES – SpaceIL, SpaceX, Twitter

Written By Brian Wang.

logo

Don’t miss the latest future news

Subscribe and get a FREE Ebook